Pioneer Profiles : B
Came west with the N. W. M. P. 1874 to Cypress Hills and Fort Macleod. He was born in Jamaica, BWI in 1858, coming to Canada in 1865. He joined the N. W. M. P. at the age of fifteen as a trumpeter and gave a command performance before Queen Victoria in 1897. He served in the Boer War, toured the continent with the Fifteenth Light Horse Regimental Band; was founder of the Elks band, Mounted Police band and Calgary Citizens band in 1903. Major Bagley was present at the signing of Treaty No.7. He married Lucy May Kerr-Francis in 1890.There were six girls in the family.
William Baille, a stone mason, and wife Mary (nee Spenser) are recorded to have had a son named William born in Calgary on April 02, 1886.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Alberta Index for Birth, Marriage and Death Registrations 1870-1905.
Sheep Creek 1883. Later they had a livery barn in partnership with Johnny Hamilton.
Mr. Baines arrived in the Sheep Creek area, in 1886. Born in 1861 at Lancaster, England. He died in 1924, at High River, Alberta. He married Mary Eliza Juett, in 1904, Christchurch, Waterloo, England. Mary was born in 1870, Yorkshire, England, and died in 1949, High River, Alberta. Bains worked at a number of ranches including the C.C., Mosquito Creek, and Oxley. In 1900 he went to the Boer War. On his return to High River, he was employed as Manager of St. Georges Hotel. In 1915 he bought the South Fork Trading Post, at Pekisko. After his death his wife and family ran the store until 1957.
George Baker claimed to have crossed the border one jump ahead of the Sheriff. He worked near Fort Macleod in the early 1880's and moved to B.C. where he broke horses near Kamloops. He accepted a contract to deliver and break a carload of horses for the N.W.M.P. in Regina and returned to the High River district in 1887 where he worked for the High River Horse Ranch. He and Bill MacDougall later took a contract to cut rails for a fence at the Bar U Ranch. He was well liked and remembered as a fine horseman. Remained in the district for a few years, then moved on.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Mr. Baldock arrived in Calgary, in 1885. He was born in Woodbridge York County, Ontario on October 18, 1862. He married Elizabeth Robertson of Brandon, Manitoba in 1892. Ralph served with General Strange during the Rebellion. After his discharge in 1886, homesteaded in the Nose Creek district. He later relocated to Cochrane and entered the real estate business. There were three children: Elizabeth, John and Walter.
Mrs. Baldwin came to Medicine Hat in 1884. She was born in Ireland in 1836 and died in 1906, at Toronto, Ontario. She married George A Baldwin, in 1865, Quebec City. George was born at sea between England and Canada. He died in 1883, in Toronto, Ontario. Mrs. Baldwin was the first nurse in the Medicine Hat area. She came west with two of her children, George James and Arthur W. Her two daughters remained in the east. Her son George drove Oxen on the Fort Benton Trail to Fort Macleod. Arthur and George homesteaded in Carmangay.
George Baldwin came to Lethbridge, in 1885. He was born February 15th, 1871 and died May 9th, 1958. George was a member of the Pemmican Club in 1894.
Mr. A. Bangs was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1889.
Mr. E. J. Bangs was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1888.
Mr. Banister and four of his sons, came to the Davisburg area in 1884. Mrs. Bannister with the rest of the family joined him in 1887. Albert was born in 1842, in Sussex, England and died in 1914, Victoria, B.C. He married Helen Mary Weston, on June 4th, 1864, in Sussex, England and she died November 15th, 1909 in Victoria B.C. They had seven children He was employed as a Farm Instructor and Stockman on the Sarcee Reserve in the 1890's and for a number of years as a blacksmith with the Blackfoot Band. In 1920, he joined the staff at the Agriculture College, at Claresholm and remained there until his retirement. His range was "The Grotto", on the Bow River, thirty miles S.E. of Calgary, on Dunbow Road.
Mr. J. T. Banker came to Okotoks in 1889. He was born October 9, 1852 in Northwich, Cheshire, England.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAPD membership application files.
Mr. J. A. Bannerman came to Calgary in March of 1886. He was an Inspector in the Dominion Land Office.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAPD membership application files.
Born July 21, 1849 Helmsdale Scotland, died April 11, 1927 Kamloops B. C. He married Margaret Jepson Young at Gore Bay Ontario October 8, 1881, she was born August 8, 1857 at Toronto, Ontario and died Calgary, August 18, 1895. They had one daughter Edith Morven (J. E. Fitzwater). He came to Canada 1867 and worked in Montreal and Toronto in Drygoods. Came to Calgary in 1883 in partnership with his brother Joseph in Flour and Feed Business. City of Calgary Council Finance Committee 1891; Board of Trade, first President; also on Board of Directors General Hospital 1894.
Joseph was born at Helmsdale, Scotland on 12 March 1851 and died at Calgary 17 April 1932. On 15 September 1885 he married Christina Miller Sutherland, who was born at Caithness, Scotland on 23 May 1860 and died at Calgary, on 9 April 1907. They had a family of four boys and two girls. Christina was his first wife of three. His second wife was Emma Northfield who was born at Harston, England and died at Banff, Alberta on 28 February 1917. They had two daughters. He later married Emma's sister Ruth, who was born at Harston and died there as well. Joseph came to Edmonton in 1882 and settled at Calgary in 1883. He was a partner, with brother James, in flour and feed as well as liquor business. He served on the Calgary City Council in 1886 and the Northwest Territories Legislature Assembly from 1894 to 1896. He lived the rest of his life in Banff.
Came to Red Deer 1883. Born June 20, 1836 Helmsdale Scotland: Died November 13, 1913 at Calgary, Married Christina McKay August 10, 1867 at Woodstock, 0ntario where she was born February 13, 1836. She died in Red Deer March 6, 1910. She came to Red Deer to join her husband and oldest son in 1889, with one or two daughters and two sons. Sage operated the Ferry at the Red Deer Crossing from 1884-90, was Justice of Peace, Charter Member Historical Society and first President of Red Deer Old Timers.
Mr. Bannister was born at Collingwood Ontario and died December 23, 1934 at Calgary. Married Annie Louise Bimey on December 1899 at Calgary. She was born August 20, 1879 at Guelph Ontario, died June 12, 1949 Calgary. Seven daughters and two sons. Thomas arrived in Calgary in 1886 with W.H. Manary and worked for Dunn and Lineham Meat Market as a butcher. Before the end of the year he became employed at the Bow Valley Ranch, Fish Creek. Initially working for W. R. Hull and later Pat Burns, he was employed for some 25 years years, mainly as the Manager in charge of the ranch. He was transferred to be in charge of the stockyards at Calgary in 1910. He remained at the P Burns Stockyards until his retirement December 31, 1929. Thomas was well know among ranchers and farmers of Alberta, and was highly respected for his knowledge of the cattle business.
Merged with 2004 Addendum.
Born October 3, 1841 Helmsdale Scotland; died December 13, 1914 at Riverside, California, U.S.A. Married Isabella Campbell of Eganville, Ontario, in 1867. One daughter. He came to Canada about 1857 to Renfrew Ontario to his uncle William McKay who was in the Lumber business and Post Office. Mr. Bannerman was a Member of Parliament Renfrew South, Ontario, 1880-82. Came to Edmonton in 1882 and was appointed Post Master in Calgary in October 1883. Was Member of Masonic Lodge A.F.A.M. Bow Valley in 1884.
Born Hawick Scotland May 10, 1857. Died October 30,1934 at Exshaw, Alberta. Married Susan McRavey (McGrevey) in 1890 at Anthracite Alberta. She was born April 13, 1867, Edinburgh Scotland. Died May 5, 1949 at Canmore, Alberta. Mrs. Baptie came to Calgary 1888. Adam came to Calgary in 1888 where he operated the butcher shop connected with the early grocery firm of Copas and Emerson. He retired in 1898 to take up ranching in Cochrane Morley district. In 1919 appointed Homestead Inspector for the Cochrane Morley District. There were five sons and three daughters.
Mr. Barbeau ranched at Cowley, He was located over the ridge from Pincher Creek and built a cabin beside Limekiln Lake. He raised horses and carried on until old age forced him to retire. He was in the Pincher Creek area in 1887.
Mr. Barber came to Calgary in 1886. He was the Treasurer of the Calgary City Council in 1888. He was also the first Manager of the Imperial Bank. He was a member of the Board of Trade in 1890
Mr. Barber came to Calgary in 1885. Born November 25, 1865 Port Arthur Ontario. Died November 6, 1961 Calgary. Married Charlotte Dupen. Shown as living over Stewarts Hardware. An early member of Southern Alberta Pioneers Association.
George Barclay in 1884 homesteaded the SE 1/4 of Sec.30-21-28-W4M in the Davisburg District.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Sodbusting to Subdivision.
Mr. Barclay came to Lethbridge area in 1886. He was born March 4, 1851, in Glasgow, Scotland. He died in 1950. James worked on the C-C Ranch in 1886.
In 1881 Andrew Baria who was pursuing theological studies in Leipzig, Germany was appointed a missionary. His appointment was at Edmonton. He was ordained at Motherwell, Ontario prior to corning to Edmonton. His charge was from Red Deer to Edmonton.
Mr. and Mrs. Barker were in the Lethbridge area in 1886
Mr. Barker came to Lethbridge in 1884. He was born in 1859 at Oxfordshire, England and died in 1942 in England. He married Clara Dusenbury, in 1889 at Fort Macleod. She died in 1909. Working on ranches he traveled through Montana, arriving at Lethbridge in May of 1884 Leaving there he went to Macleod and to Kootenai Lakes, finally settling in Cardston district, on the Cochrane Ranch. The following spring he became a member of the Rocky Mountain Rangers and took part in the Riel Rebellion. On his discharge, he obtained land near Cardston. He was Police Magistrate in Cardston and later in Lethbridge and held that office until his retirement in 1926, when he left for England where he passed away.
Mr. Barker came to Okotoks in 1889. He was born October 9, 1852, at Northwick, Cheshire. England He worked for the C.P.R.
Mr. and Mrs. Barker came to the Beddington area in 1889, where they homesteaded and raised a family of four children.
Born October 20, 1864 Sunderland, England, Died February 28, 1938, Calgary. He came to Calgary In 1884. He remained here working for C.P. Railway through Kicking Horse Pass: went to New Zealand where he was married. He had one daughter Hanna. They returned to Alberta in 1904 and homesteaded at Swallwell. He served as Justice of peace in the Carbon and the Swallwell district.
Came to Fort Macleod in 1882. He was born in 1855, Buffalo, New York. He married Elizabeth Flynn in Fort Macleod, in 1911. Mr. Barker established a Furniture Business, on his arrival at Fort Macleod and in 1889 had a General Store. In 1902, confined his business entirely to Dry Goods. He was a member of the Board of Trade and the Agriculture Society.
Mr. Barker came to Calgary in 1883. He was born April 21, 1861, Bruce County, Ontario. In February, 1885 "Bob" Barker was one of the first two constables reporting to Police Chief Jack Ingram of Calgary. He married Barbara Ann Patterson, a Lieutenant in the Salvation Army in December of 1887 at Calgary and she died around 1913. There were nine children: Donald William, Robert Alexander, Leonard Atkinson, Ernest Gordon, Nora, Mary I., Helen May, Barbara Alice and Ina Jean He joined the Alberta Lodge #1 of the Odd fellows in 1887. He later served as Truant officer for both the public and separate school boards in the early 1900's. He died in Calgary January 16, 1939 at the age of 78 years. Flags were flown at half mast at schools as a gesture of respect to him. Members of the City of Calgary Police force acted as Pall Bearers at his Funeral.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Calgary Weekly Herald, Dec. 21, 1887. Additional research by JFR
Mr. Barnes came to the Springbank district in 1881. During the Riel Rebellion he drove an ammunition wagon bringing supplies from Montana. After the Rebellion, he farmed land West of Calgary until his death. John Wraith, his nephew, took over the farm at that time. John Barnes was a Juryman, during the Fisk murder trial, in 1889.
Mr. Barnes came to Lethbridge in 1885. He was born January 21, 1853 in London, England. It is believed he died at Vancouver, B.C. He married Isabel Martin in 1890, at Fort Macleod, Alberta. She was born in Ireland and died in 1943 at Calgary. They had two sons. Robert Fulton and Reginald. Rennie Barnes moved to Fort Macleod in 1888 where he purchased the Higginbotham Drug Store. He was a member of the Macleod town Council for ten years.
Mr. Barnes arrived in Lethbridge, in 1885. He was born in England in 1849 and died in 1906 at Montreal, Quebec enroute to England. His wife Elizabeth was born in England. William worked at the old drift coal mine. He later purchased eighty acres of land and started a dairy business known as Barnes Bottom. He is also remembered as the owner of Barnes Mine, six miles north of Lethbridge, Alberta. There were two children in the family, Fred and Gertrude.
Mr. W. W. Barnett was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1889.
Mr. Baronet was at Pincher Creek in 1882. Mr. Baronet was with NWMP. After his discharge, he took a position as cook in a sawmill, in the area west of Pincher Creek.
He was born 1864 and died 1947. Barrett operated a livery, feed and sales stable east side Elbow River, keeping his stables and equipment in first class condition.
Miss Barrett was born at Orno, Ontario. She came West in 1875, to the Methodist Mission at White Fish Lake. She remained there for two years, then relocated to the McDougall Mission at Morley, Alberta. She was one of the Mission Party that accompanied the Stoney Indians to the Blackfoot Crossing, and was one of the signatory witnesses to Treaty No.7. Elizabeth never married. She died at Morley in 1888, at the McDougall home.
Came to the Calgary area, in 1885. The brothers took up land on the North side of the Bow River, where they ranched, for a number of years.
Michael came to the Langdon district in 1886. Born February 6, 1869 Limerick, Ireland. Died December 13, 1957 Edmonton, Alberta. Married Bridget Agnes O'Connell February 6, 1894 Limerick, Ireland She was born October 10, 1873 Limerick. Died in Wetaskiwin Alberta July 4, 1948. Seven daughters and four sons.
Ex-Sgt. Veterinarian, was stationed at Fort Macleod 1885 and Calgary 1886. Born August 15, 1861 Ireland. Died April 24, 1947, Calgary, Alberta. Married Margaret Lacroix June 10, 1895 at Prince Albert. She was born November 17, 1876 Sarnia, Ontario and died March 11, 1963 Red Deer, buried in Calgary. Four daughters and nine sons. N.W.M. Police Reg. No.1415 engaged Halifax, Nova Scotia, June 6, 1885. Reil Rebellion Prince Albert Sask. Granted Medal Calgary 1886. Veterinarian Calgary, discharged June 5th, 1895. Retired and farmed Strathmore and Bearberry (Sundre). There were fourteen children in the family.
Mr. Barter came to High River in 1883. John's date and place of birth is unknown. He died at Calgary in 1892 of typhoid. John married Elizabeth Travis, on April 27, 1887 in Calgary.. Elizabeth was the daughter of Judge J. Travis. Mr. Barter was Hudson Bay Trader stationed at Edmonton, then at Rocky Mountain House and in 1883 at High River. In 1884, he became the first Manager of the Quorn Ranch. They had one son, John. After her husband's death, Mrs. Barter and young son returned to New Brunswick.
In February, 1885 Robert Barton was one of the first two constables reporting to Police Chief Jack Ingram of Calgary. He was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1888.
Major Barwis came to Calgary in 1889. He was born June 28th, 1862 at Megantic, Quebec and died in Vancouver. He married Nora Creina, at Calgary. He was educated at St. Francis College, Richmond, P.Q. He established an Insurance business and was also Major 2nd in command of the 15th Light Horse Regiment. In 1906 he moved to British Columbia.
Mr. Bassett came to the Medicine Hat area in 1883. He was born in England and died in 1899 at Medicine Hat. He married Isabella Greaves in England. She was born in 1845 in Scotland and died in 1920 at Medicine Hat, Alberta. Thomas Bassett was a hotel operator in Medicine Hat. They had four daughters and five sons.
Mr. Bastien was in the Pincher Creek area in the 1880's. It is claimed he was found dead in his shack, with a small child, who was almost starved to death, beside him.
In 1887 Mr. Bateman homesteaded in the Jumping Pound area. Born March 25, 1865 Co. Cork, Ireland. Died January lst,1942 Jumping Pound, Alberta. Married November 30, 1896 at Calgary, to Jessie Louise Potts born on December 16, 1876, Coburg, Ontario died August 22, 1951 Calgary. Four daughters five sons.
Mr. Bates came to Cardston September 29, 1887. Born September 5, 1869, Toole Co. Utah , U.S.A. Died August 29, 1934, Cardston, Alberta. Married September 8, 1890 Cardston, to Jane Eliza Woolf, born August 8, 1873 in Hyde Park, Utah and died July 21, 1951 at Cardston. They had four daughters and four sons.
Mr Bates came to Pincher Creek in 1877 with the NWMP. Born Kempville, Ontario died Fort Macleod. He married twice, (1) Lizzie Story, one daughter; (2) Margaret, no issue. Member of N.W.M. Police stationed at Pincher Creek 1877 and at Fort Macleod 1888; where he operated a Pool Hall, later went into Partnership with A.F. Grady in Hardware store. Bates then went farming in McBride Lake district retiring in Fort Macleod.
Mr. Battrick came to Calgary 1889. He married Martha Ann Battrick, died about 1920 Edmonton, Alberta. One daughter Mary Jane ( Mrs. Henry M. Trimble). The Battrick family remained in Calgary until about 1900, then moved to Edmonton.
Mr. Bawden was born September 3, 1861 in St. Germoe, Cornwall, England. Died March 29, 1946 Calgary, married April 16, 1883 to Mary Piper at St. Germoe Cornwall England, born February 6, 1864 died September 1, 1961 Calgary. Two daughters. Emigrated from England to Montana, then Saskatchewan 1889.
Mr. Baylis arrived in Medicine Hat in 1884 and invested one hundred thousand dollars developing a coal mine at Redcliff.
Tom Bean was an American who had no visible signs of income, but resided at Sec. 7-24-27 in the 1880s. He was best known for his ownership of a thoroughbred stallion, "Mystery", which he raced in local meets. It was rumoured that he previously had ridden with the Dalton gang in the USA.
Chief Bill Bear was born on the Blackfoot Reserve in Alberta in 1862. At age 5 he was adopted by Constable James Stamford of the NWMP at Ft. Macleod. Constable Stamford retired to Montana. where Bill was educated by Stamford's mother In 1880 at age 18 he returned to the Blackfoot Reserve to visit his mother. He stayed there and later married Minnie Dog Child who was born in 1871. He acted as the interpreter for the Blackfoot tribe and later joined the NWMP where he stayed for ten years. Following his retirement he raised cattle, in the area He died February 14th. 1943 and Minnie died January 1st, 1960.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Gleichen Call.
Mr. Beard worked for Wilmot between 1880 and 1890. Pincher Creek 1880s.
Neil Beaton came to Calgary in 1885. Was born in Kincardine, Ontario in 1862 and died at Calgary, in 1939. In 1897 he married, first, to Ethel Medes who was born at Woodstock, Ontario in 1879 and died at Calgary, in 1908. There were two children by this marriage. In 1924 he married his second wife, Margaret O'Regan who was born in County Cork, Ireland in 1876 and died in Calgary, Alberta in 1974. There was one child of this marriage. He homesteaded in Symons Valley area.
Frank Beattie was born in Grey County, Ontario in 1855 and died in 1931 in Victoria, B.C. In 1888, he married Katherine Cameron, who was born in Scotland and died at Banff; Alberta in 1918. There were seven children. Frank came to Manitoba in 1882 where he was a Winnipeg policeman for one year, was a cook on CPR construction gang and then in 1884 went into the hotel business in Golden and Beaver, B.C. From 1884 to about 1900 he operated many businesses, hotels in Kaslo, B.C. and in Banff, a pool hall and bowling alley in 1887.
Born in 1853 Lansdowne, Ontario died 14 November, 1907 at Red Deer, Alberta. Married Annette Christina Bannerman, November, 1892 at Red Deer. She was born 3 October 1871 at Woodstock, Ontario and died in 1954 at Vancouver, B.C. Children were; Walter Murray, Marie Annette, Ellen and James Lloyd George. He came west, settled at Red Deer Crossing the fall of 1882. He claimed two sections to homestead. These were taken along with Jim Beatty and Bill Kemp. He was with survey party, Edmonton district 1881. Believed he broke first six acres of land by white men between Calgary and Edmonton. Owned and operated Alberta Hotel at Red Deer, Alberta.
James Beatty was born in Parry Sound, Ontario and died in Lansdowne, Ontario in 1930. James was on a survey party in Edmonton in 1881 and was one of the earliest pioneer settlers in Red Deer in 1882. References are made to James Beatty in several Alberta histories.
Cleophas Beauchemen arrived in Gleichen in 1890 where he worked for Joseph Beaupre. In March of 1901, his residence on NE of Sec.12-27-22-W4M, became the first Post Office, named the Rosebud Creek Post Office. Cleophas returned to Montreal after his wife left him for another man.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Acme Memories.
Although born in Canada Louis Beaupre was raised in Montana until he came to St. Albert in 1865 where he married 14 year old Euphrasine L'Hirondell upon arrival. They initially farmed at St. Albert and later squatted on land beside a creek that bears his name in the Big Hill vicinity. He cut and sold logs to the Cochrane Ranch and assisted the ranch at branding time. They had a family of one son and one daughter. He sold his farm in 1883. Being French Canadian/Metis they had good relations with the local Indians. They traded at the Morley Trading Post.
Came to Gleichen in 1883. Victor Beaupre came west to Winnipeg in 1873 and died at Gleichen, Alberta in 1909. He married Philomene Arial. With the building of the CPR he became a subcontractor with Langdon and Shepard, constructing many miles of railroad and the yards and siding at Gleichen where he opened a small general store. Mr. Beaupre was active in community affairs and was Magistrate at Gleichen for many years. There were four children in the family.
Mr. Beauvais came west about 1875 with his wife, Mary; they had a family of six. They traveled by covered wagon from Union, Oregon, U.S.A to Pincher Creek, where they homesteaded by the lake which is named after them Beauvais Lake.
Mark Beazer was born at Chimney Rock, Nebraska, USA in 1854 and died at Cardston, Alberta in 1936. In 1880 at Salt Lake City, Utah, USA he married Ellen Burton who was born at Bradford, England in 1858 and died at Cardston, Alberta in 1956. There were five children. Mr. Beazer arrived at Cardston in 1889 and his wife Ellen in 1890.
Charles Becher was born in Ireland, came to Canada in 1881 and joined the Hudson's Bay of Winnipeg in 1885 and transferred with the Company in 1887 to Edmonton, Alberta. He married Florence May Casey in 1894. There were two children, Georgie May Becher, and Lilian Beatrice Becher. They later resided at Fort Macleod.
Justice Beck was born at Coburg, Ontario in 1857. the son of Rev. J. W. R. and Georgina Beck, was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1879, having earned his degree from the University of Toronto. He maintained an office in Peterborough. In 1886 he married Mary Ethel Lloyd and they had two daughters and two sons. In 1889 he came to Calgary and became a partner in the firm of Lougheed, McCarthy and Beck. He moved to Edmonton in 1891 where he became interested in legal, moral and educational advancement of the NWT. In 1906, he married Louisa Adelaide Teefy. In 1907, Beck was appointed a Judge of the Supreme Court of Alberta, and then the Appellate Division.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Dictionary of Canadian Biography. Additional research by JFR.
Mrs. Beddingfield and her son Frank first immigrated to Iowa in 1881 and then came and lived at the High River Horse Ranch from 1884 to 1886. They moved into their own log cabin where they went into partnership on a cattle venture with the Seven U Ranch. Frank married Josephine Maitland in 1910 and they established their own home. When WW1 started Frank enlisted as an ambulance driver and served overseas for two years. Mrs. Beddingfield returned to England likely before WW1. Frank later sold the ranch to Edward, Prince of Wales and he returned to England with his wife and daughter.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree, p. 425.
Ellis Beebe and Sara (nee Maxwell) are recorded to have had a daughter named Georgina Jane born in Calgary on October 11, 1885. Georgina married Fredrick Miller on June 23, 1903.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Alberta Index for Birth, Marriage and Death Registrations 1870-1905.
Ranchers in Fort Macleod area. Brand was Top Boot and was registered in 1888.
Mr. Begg was born at Watten, Caithness, Scotland in 1825 and died in New York, USA in 1905. He was married twice with one son Magnus, from the first marriage. In 1858 he married Emily Marie Luke who was born in 1839 and died in 1932. They had eleven children. Mr. Begg was a man of many talents and occupations and is well known for several books and diaries, notably that recording his experiences at Fort Garry in 1869-70. In 1882 his travels brought him west and he settled at the Site of Addison McPhersons old trading post at the mouth of the Highwood River. This was known as the Dunbow Ranch and was also the post office of that name.
Magnus Begg married Flora McDougall in 1886 at Calgary. Flora was a daughter of Rev. John McDougall. Magnus was the Indian agent at the Blackfoot Indian Reserve in 1886 and then filed on the SW 24-22-23-W4th. The brand was monogram MB registered in 1888.
Robert Begg was born at Quebec City in 1864 and died at New Westminster, B.C. in 1942. In 1902 at Calgary, he married Lavinia Frances Golding who was born at Wickham, N.B. in 1874 and died at Calgary in 1917. Robert and his father Alexander Begg (author, historian) came to Fort Benton in 1882. The Dunbow ranch, which was developed at the mouth of the Highwood, at one time had 2500 acres of leased land. When his father went to pursue his other career, Robert continued to operate the ranch. Descendants are still living in Alberta and B.C.
Mr. and Mrs. Begin came to Lethbridge in 1886. Cyrille was born in 1846, at Levis, Quebec and died in Lethbridge in 1938. He married Emily in 1875 at Montreal. They had two daughters; Lydia and Albertine. Mr. Begin opened the first restaurant in Lethbridge. He later went into real estate and built the Begin Block.
Robert Begley was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1889. He was a shoemaker on Stephen Avenue. He died in December 26th, 1928 and was survived by his wife Victoria who was then living in the Forest Lawn District.
Percy Belcher was a member of the N.W.M.P and a member of the North Star Masonic Lodge No. 4 in Lethbridge Alberta prior to December 31, 1890.
Robert Belcher was born in England in 1849. In 1888 he married Margaret at Fort Mcleod, Alberta. In 1873, joined the NWMP, and was posted to Fort Macleod, in 1874. He was in the Military Service for 33 years, retiring a second in command of the Strathcona Horse during the South African War and then to command of the 19th Alberta Dragoons. The Colonel Belcher Hospital, Calgary, Alberta is named after him.
A victim of T.B. he came west for his health in 1883. He took a half section of land at the head of the Little Bow River, but never owned livestock. In 1887 he sold to Wm. Ikin and returned to Montreal, Quebec.
Donald Bell was born at Tiree, Scotland in 1844. He ranched at Dry Fork, Pincher Creek, Alberta. Brands for horses and cattle were registered in 1888.
Ernest Bell, born in England, came to Canada at the age three with his family in the early 1860's. He traveled west in 1881 as a surveyor but tried many other vocations. He worked as a freighter, a carpenter, broke horses, and fought in the Riel Rebellion with Steel's Scouts. In 1898 he traveled overland to the Klondike gold fields and in the early 1900's managed the Inglis Ranch for two years. He purchased a homestead near Beaver Dam Creek and raised polo ponies and horses for the NWMP. He married Annie Gentles and had four children. He sold his holdings in 1918, moved back to Ontario and died in 1935. His wife Annie died in 1955.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Big Hill Country, p. 701.
Came to the Millarville district 1887. Mr. Bell was born at Carlisle, Cumberland, England and died in 1917 at Vancouver, B.C. He married Mary Fisher, who died in 1902 at Millarville, Alberta. His second wife was Mary Elizabeth Crichton, who died at Millarville 1914. There were two children. He homesteaded the SE 1/4 6-21-3-W5th, naming his ranch the Belvoir Ranch. Mr. Bell helped build the Ranchers Hall and the Millarville Church. He was the first Postmaster in the Kew district.
James Bell was born at County Cavan, Ireland in 1850 and died at Fort Macleod in 1902. In 1882 he married Harriet Marion Gilmour, who was born in 1852 at Ottawa, Ontario and died at Fort Macleod in 1902. They had three children. Mr. Bell came to Southern Alberta in 1874 with the N.W.M.P. and served with the force until 1880. He then established a ranch with Robert Patterson. The partnership dissolved in 1884 and he ranched on his own until his death in 1902. James was a member of the first Northwest Territories Round-Up at Fort Macleod in 1879.
John Bell was born at Walkerton, Ontario in 1859 and died at Ashland, Oregon, USA in 1928. In 1886 he married Mary Short who was born at Walkerton, Ontario in 1867 and died at Ashland, Oregon in 1929. They had two children, Elizabeth and James. They settled in the Red Deer Lake district in 1885.
John Bell was born in 1836 and died at Pincher Creek in 1910. He arrived at Fort Macleod in 1877.
Lachlan Bell was born at Tiree, Scotland in 1846 and died at Tiverton, Ontario in 1916. In 1883 he married Clara Olive Clark, who was born in Essex County in 1863 and died at Regina, Saskatchewan in 1938. They had eight children. The family settled at Fort Macleod and Pincher Creek in 1879. Their brand the Double Pick was registered in 1888.
Ralph Bell was born in 1861 at Doncaster, Yorkshire, England and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1953. In 1886 he married Nellie Grey Morrison who was born at Hamilton, Ontario in 1861 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1927. Mrs. Bell was previously married and had three children. Mr. Bell came to Canada in 1866 and made his way to Calgary in 1881 with the NWMP and spent some time on railway patrol during construction of the C.P.R.
William Bell-Irving came from Scotland in 1882 and was one of the first settlers who homesteaded in the Grand Valley in 1883. He purchased a section from the CPR land and by 1886 he held 5,280 acres of leased land. He was fortunate during the severe winter of 1886-87 in that his ranch had less snow and better shelter so his stock survived. He also raised light horses which his wife rode in races. He sold out in 1900 and moved to Cuba where he bought a ranch..
2004 Addendum. Ref: Big Hill Country, p. 350.
Mrs. Bell-Irving was born at Inverness, Scotland in 1830 and died at Banff, Alberta in 1906. Her spouse Henry Bell-Irving died in Scotland in 1868. There were eight children. Mrs. Bell-Irving, a widow emigrated to Canada with her grown family in 1883 and settled in the Morley area. A lease was obtained for 5,280 acres. The registered brand was a crown.
Mr. Bellamy came to Canmore 1885. He was born in Staffordshire, England and died at Vancouver, B.C. in 1933. He was married to Harriet E. Clark, who was born in Vancouver, B.C. in 1863 and died there in 1954. They had three children, Gertrude, George and Phillip. Mr. Bellamy was C.P.R. Engineer and was on the train that brought General Middleton's troops west during the Riel Rebellion, then lived at Canmore until moving to Calgary in 1889.
Mr. Bentley was born at Strathroy, Ontario in 1852 and died at Lethbridge, Alberta in 1922. In 1883 he married Margaret Lettice West, who was born at Orangeville, Ontario in 1861 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1951. They had three children. Henry became a carrier for the C.P.R. in 1879 in Lake of the Woods region. He was a commission agent and General Merchant for C.P.R. at Winnipeg and the Mountain Division from 1881 to 1885. He teamed goods from Medicine Hat to Lethbridge in 1885 and continued in merchantile business until 1902. He was mayor of Lethbridge for eight terms.
Mr. Bernard was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1840 and died at Calgary Alberta in 1911. He married Mary Morton, who was born in Ireland in 1840 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1929. They had seven children all born in Ireland. A descendent of a noted Irish family William Bernard had been a brilliant lawyer in London, England. On arrival in Calgary in 1888 he set up a law office and also purchased the Daily Tribune from Braden. He was later joined by his son Michael Charles so the firm became Bernard and Bernard.
Corporal Berry was one of the early NWMP in the Fort Macleod and Pincher Creek areas who arrived by way of Montana in about 1874.
2004 Addendum. Ref: History of the Early Days of Pincher Creek, p. 4-5.
Dick Berry in 1872 started to construct a post near Fort Kanouse along the Elbow River. He was driven off by Indians before the first timber was laid. He then moved westward and constructed a post about 12 miles upriver from Kanouse. He was later killed in an ambush by a Blood Indian named Old Woman's Child.
In 1860 at Chatham, Ontario, Mr. Berry married Emma Rachel Barfoot. They had seven children. In 1884 two sons, Sam and George came west and homesteaded on land along Chipman Creek. In 1884 the sons returned to Chatham and Mr. Berry with rest of the family went to Pincher Creek. Mr. Berry ranched at Pincher Creek in 1888, on Indian Farm Creek and operated a Dairy farm. He died in 1901.
Merged two original records. Ref: William Berry family fonds - Glenbow Museum. Additional research by JFR.
Came to Pincher Creek detachment of NWMP in 1888. He became a councillor in the first Pincher Creek Council in 1906.
Mr Bertrand settled at Fort Macleod. His brand EB left shoulder was registered in 1888.
Harry Bescoby, born in England, initally emigrated to Manitoba. He fought in the Riel rebellion, then moved to a farm in Listowell, Ontario. His first wife died and he took the advice of his mother-in-law, Mrs. Tom Bunce of Calgary, to come west with his five children. 1890 he homesteaded on the South Fork of the Sheep Creek. He hauled mail from Okotoks to Lineham Post office. He and his second wife, Sara Anne Manard, lived on the ranch until 1917 when he returned to Listowell. He died in 1925. Only three of his seven children attained adulthood.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
An early Methodist Minister in Calgary.
Mr. Beveridge was born at Glasgow, Scotland in 1829 and died at Springbank, Alberta in 1903. He married Mary Johnson, who was born in Scotland in 1860 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1911. There were five children. Mr. Beveridge, a tanner, came to Calgary in 1890, taking up a farm at Springbank where he remained until his death.
Mr. Beveridge came to Calgary 1886. He was born in Grey County, Ontario in 1870. He married Ada May Clarke, who was born at Winnipeg, Man. in 1887, and died at Calgary, in 1962. There were no children. He came to Calgary when he was 16 years old and filed on a homestead 7 miles east of Calgary. From 1893 to 1908 he was engaged in businesses in Winnipeg and the U.S.A. After returning to Calgary he was manager of the Southeast Land Co. and director of the Land Traction Co. Ltd.
Thomas Beveridge was born at Collingwood, Ontario in 1856. In 1893 he married Janet Dewar, who was born in Dundas County, Ontario. They had two children. He joined the first survey party of the C.P.R. when he was 16 years of age, working from Nipigon west, and remained in that occupation for 10 years. In 1885 he came to Calgary, where he homesteaded 4 miles east, on a pre-empted half section from the C.P.R. He farmed until 1907 and was engaged in the real estate business. He built the Beveridge Block on 7th Ave. 1st Street east.
James Bews was born in 1872 in the Orkney Islands, Scotland and died at Rochester, Minnesota in 1936. In 1904 he married Agnes Clancy O'Donohue, who was born in Tipperary, Ireland in 1865 and died at High River, Alberta in 1941. There were three children, Margaret, James and Peter. He came to Alberta when he was 18 years of age trapping and prospecting until 1889. He then worked with the Lineham Co. at Okotoks, the Quorn Ranch and in 1899 homesteaded on Spring Creek, west of Okotoks. In 1912 he purchased the John Sullivan place, on Sullivan Creek, now owned by his son.
Joe Bice homesteaded the SW 1/4 of Sec.6-21-28-W4M in the DeWinton district in 1883.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Sodbusting to Subdivision.
Thomas Biggs with George Stuart worked the hunting grounds in the "gap" west of Pincher Creek in the 1880's. In 1889 Thomas filed for homestead rights on Sec.20262W5M.
2004 Addendum. Ref: History of the Early Days of Pincher Creek, p. 6-7 and SAPD Black Book files.
Born about 1860, Pontypool, Ontario. Married 1890 to Elsie Mclndoo, who was born in 1861 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1945. They had one son. Came to Calgary on first passenger train in 1885 then logged in B.C. and returned to Calgary. Started the Billings Saw Mill in Township 2, supplying lumber to Priddis and Calgary districts. Sold to V.N. DeMille in 1907 then operated Western Planing Mills. Retired to farm in 1910.
Born in 1832 at Bedford, England and died at Calgary Alberta in 1907. His second marriage was to Ellen Munro, who was born in 1842 in Scotland and died in 1909 at Calgary. They had eight children. William served in the Crimean War and in the Tiping Rebellion. He came to Canada to Ontario about 1867 and to Calgary in 1886. He leased the Bow-Keith ranch and brought his family out in 1890. He rented the Chris Greer place and ranched at the Baker Sanatorium site then Turner siding and finally Red Deer Lake district.
William Birney came to Lethbridge in 1886 and ranched in the area.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAPD membership application files.
Mr. Birnie was born in 1859 in England and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1930. He married in 1902 at Helena, Montana to Mary Smits, who was born in 1868 in England and died in Calgary in 1967. They had two children. He came from Cheyenne, Wyoming by covered wagon with a herd of one hundred horses and some cattle. He wintered in Fort Macleod because of bad weather and arrived at Calgary in 1884 after almost a year on the trail. He sold his horses and started ranching in the present districts on Shepard and Ogden.
Arthur Bishop was born in 1849 in Albert Co. N.B. and died in 1936 at Calgary, Alberta. He was married in 1877 in N. B. to Gertrude Lewis, who was born in 1850 in N. B. and died in 1916 at Calgary. They had eight children; Arthur, Charles, Mable, Roy, Stanley, May, William and Minnie. Mr. Bishop was engaged in the carpentry trade. He was also treasurer of the First Baptist Church for thirty seven years, retiring in 1932.
Submitted by Shirley Bishop
Mr. Bishop was in Medicine Hat in 1889 and died in 1931.
Mrs. Bjornsdottir, born in Iceland in 1813, accompanied her daughter Mrs. Benedict Bordal and family from Iceland to Markerville in 1888. She lived on the NW 1/4 of Sec.30-37-2-W5M until her death in 1902.
Johann Bjornson was born in Iceland in 1856 and died at Markerville, Alberta in 1942. In 1887 he came to Tindstall, west of Innisfail, from North Dakota, U.S.A. He homesteaded SW 20-36-1-W5th where he built the first log house that was sheeted over with lumber. The first school in this area was on his homestead and he was the school trustee for several years. The Luthern congregation also worshipped in the school. The first post office was at the Bjornson farm from 1892 to 1912, at which time it was relocated at Markerville, Alberta. The first Mrs. Bjornson died in Iceland the mother of two children a daughter Gudrun and son Oliver. Johann was married to Margaret Paulson, who was born in 1852 and died in 1904. His third wife was Asta, there is no record of her birth or death. Information received from John Murdoch.
Born in Montreal, P.Q. He came west after the Riel Rebellion to join his brother Louis Napoleon. He homesteaded NW 1/4 18-24-3-W5th, but his wife died shortly after. He returned to Montreal for the rest of his life.
Born in 1861 at Montreal, Quebec and died at Calgary in 1932. He was married in 1886 at Calgary to Amelia Leticia Ellis. She died in 1946. They had two daughters and one son. He studied for four years in medicine at McGill University. He came west at the outbreak of the Riel Rebellion in 1885 and joined the NWMP, being appointed as interpreter to Louis Riel during his trial and execution. He returned to Montreal coming back with two brothers and homesteaded at Springbank. They made their home on the banks of the Elbow River.
John Black was the Wolf Bounty Inspector at Fort Macleod in 1889.
Born in Scotland in 1847 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1912. He was married at Calgary to Jannett Eliot, who was born in Ontario in 1850 and died at Shepard, Alberta in 1897. Their family of three daughters and one son were all born in Ontario. In Shepard in 1888.
Died at Black Diamond in 1940. Believed to have come from Ontario ahead of the railroad. He was a time keeper for the C.P.R., survey crew. He worked for Lineham Lumber as a bookkeeper. He homesteaded the SE 1/4 32-30-2-W5th in 1902. There he lived the life of a recluse until his death. He came to Calgary in 1883.
Died at Vancouver, B.C. in 1929. Married in 1892. Worked in Crowdey Bros. Bank in Fort Macleod until 1897. He was chief clerk at the Blood Indian Reserve and retired in 1914. He moved to Vancouver. His brother was John Black. Fort Macleod in 1884.
Mr. Blackburn, one of the first settlers residing at Livingstone near Pincher Creek, was honored by having Blackburn Coulee named after him.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: History of the Early Days of Pincher Creek, p. 4-5.
Born in Scotland in 1863 and died at DeWinton in 1927. He married Isabella Brodie, who was born in 1865 at Inverness, P.Q. and died at Calgary in 1950. They had six daughters and one son. Alexander served aboard a sailing vessel before coming to Western Canada. He worked on the C.P.R. construction, also was a scout during the Riel Rebellion. He homesteaded at Davisburg and was a local magistrate. In Calgary in 1884.
A NWMP member at South Fork Pincher Creek, Alberta, in the early 1880's. After a period returned to New York, USA.
John Blair was the first school teacher in High River S.D. #144. He became the school inspector of the area and turned his job over to a Miss Madge Walker the spring of 1889.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Born at Truro, N.S. in 1864 and married Jennie Martha Fisher, in 1887 at Truro, N.S. She was born in 1865. Samuel died in 1948 and his wife also died the same year. Mr. Blair came to Medicine Hat in 1890 and to Calgary in 1892. His wife and son came with him. He operated a real estate and Coan Co-Farm Lands, Estates. He was Grand Master, AF & AM a member of Bow Valley Lodge No.1. The Eastern Star Chapter at Strathmore was named for him.
Frank Blake arrived in Alberta in 1885 and settled on a SE 1/4 of a section in Twp.9 in Rge.29 ,W5M. He had a son Tony who resided in Vancouver.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Rosella Thiebert.
Born in 1864 at Norwood Ontario and died in 1954 at Home Ranch, Nanton, Alberta. He was married to Louise Lockton at Calgary in 1896. She was born in 1869 in England and died in 1945 at Claresholm, Alberta. They had three sons. Mr. Blake first worked for Canadian Coal and Colonization Co. at Langdon, the A.E. Cross A7 ranch as well as the Cochrane ranch. In 1892 he settled on the Oxley Creek in partnership with J.H. McEwan until 1898. He established his own ranch on Oxley Creek the same year. Mrs. Blake arrived in Calgary in 1893 and was Governess for Peter Cochrane.
Mr. Blake was born 19 November 1865 Westwood, Ontario. He came west in 1889 to Calgary, then to Mosquito Creek, Nanton where he ranched and farmed. On the 25 of February 1903 he married Bertha Elizabeth Ransom, who was born 22 August 1884 at English, Indiana. John passed away in 1955 and Bertha in 1969. They had seven children: Edith J.; Harold J.; Nigel S.; Cora L.; Thomas R.; John R.; Bertha C.
Submitted by Nigel S. Blake
Born in 1863 Creek Castle, Galaway, Ireland and died in 1933 at Pincher Creek, Alberta. She was married in 1890 at Deer Horn Ranch, North Fork of the Old Man River, to Alfred Hardwick Staunton, of Fort Macleod, who was born at Hamilton, Ontario, in 1860 and died at Pincher Creek, Alberta in 1932. Sarah died at Pincher Creek, in 1933. Miss Blake came west to visit her brother Frank S. Blake in 1889. She remained in the west marrying Alfred Staunton.
Mr. Blakeley first lived close by Morleyville settlement in 1884. He worked cutting rails for a sheep ranch and he also worked for a Miss Adams. Following his marriage he lived east of the Bar C quarter and milked cows for a living. He later squatted on leased land. He had one daughter.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Big Hill Country, p. 114.
He proposed the toast to "The Learned Professions" in Calgary in 1886 for Hon. Edgar Dewdney. He was also the town solicitor in 1884. He attended the NWMP Veterans dinner in 1887, responding to "Toast to the Bar". He had a law office on the east side of the Elbow River later moving to the west side.
Corporal Blick served with the NWMP in Fort Macleod from 1888 to 1893. He was later attached to the Fort Calgary detachment where he was the officer in charge of receiving the complaints of residents in the 1890's. He was one of the first in the area to enlist for the Boer War, leaving Calgary with the Lord Strathcona's Horse in 1900.
2004 Addendum. Ref: The Albertan, July 10, 1950.
Born in Montreal, Quebec and died in Quebec as well; Homesteaded with brother William south east of High River in 1883. He went to the Yukon as Secretary for J.D. McGregor who was the Cold Commissioner for the Yukon. Retired to Quebec where he died.
Died at High River, Alberta in 1897. Was at High River in 1883. He worked for Paddy Langford, McConnell & Nichol. He was a brother of Anthony Bliss.
Mr. and Mrs. T. Bluff lived on the Little Red Deer River in 1887.
Born in India. He was the son of a British Army Officer and was educated in England and came to Canada in the 1880's to Saskatchewan. In 1886 a friend named Holmes and Charlie Blunt moved to High River; he bought in partnership James Crombie's cabin, and three hundred head of cattle from Charles Lynch. He sold the cabin and contents to Mrs. Thomas Henry and moved to Calgary. After a year or two he moved to England where he died.
A signator to Address and welcome to Gov. Laird on April 9, 1887. Signator to Treaty No.7. at Blackfoot Crossing on September 16, 1887
Born at Guelph, Ontario in 1858 and died in 1933 at Calgary. He married Lucy Jane Grasely in 1880. She was born in 1861 at Eramosa, Ontario and died at Calgary in 1946. They had six daughters and two sons. Amos and his wife and family came to Alberta in 1889 along with his parents James and Mary Bolton. He lived with his parents and homesteaded between Sheep Creek and Aldersyde, later taking a homestead (NE 1/4 of Sec.28-20-27-W4M) at Gladys Ridge. They used four oxen they had to break the land in preparation for their first crop. They sold their farm in 1919 and they moved to High River.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Gladys - Dinton through the years.
Born on February 07, 1866 at Guelph, Ontario and died in 1931 at Blackie, Alberta. Arthur is buried in the Anglican cemetery at Dinton, Alberta. He married Elizabeth Ann Woolridge, who was born in England and died in 1938 at Rochester, Alberta. They had two daughters and four sons. Arthur came with his wife and son Herbert to Calgary in 1889 and on to Okotoks. He helped his parents get established on their homestead, between Sheep Creek and Aldersyde. Later he took his own family to homestead (NW 1/4 of Sec.16-20-27-W4M) at Gladys Ridge. He was the son of James and Mary Bolton.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Gladys - Dinton through the years.
Born in 1835 and died in 1906 at Okotoks, Alberta. Married Mary Avis Dew at Toronto, Ontario. She was born in 1835 in England and died in 1905 at Okotoks, Alberta. They had three daughters and five sons. He came with his wife and seven children and a niece Ada Fisher, from Guelph in 1889. Homesteaded between Sheep Creek and Aldersyde, where he farmed and raised cattle for many years. Two of his sons were already married before accompanying their parents to Calgary. Their sons later took up homesteads in the Gladys Ridge area.
Mr. Bone born in Ayrshire, Scotland in 1859, attended the University of Glasgow where he received a degree in civil engineering. He came to Calgary in 1883 during the construction of the CPR. employed in survey work on the Calgary to Edmonton railway. At the turn of the century he was the first engineer in charge of irrigation east of Calgary. Served on City Council and on board of Western Canada College and the Sheriff King Home. Past President of The Southern Alberta Pioneers and Old Timers Association. He died in Calgary in 1945.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Glenbow Musceum, Calgary.
Mr. Bonnell came to Cardston, Alberta in 1890.He was born in 1830 in Nova Scotia and died in the U.S.A. in 1950. He was married in Montana on 15 February 1894. His wife died in 1916. He was active in the livestock business and farming in the Lethbridge area. There were six children in the family.
Benedict and Sezilea came to America from Iceland in 1873. They arrived in Calgary by train and travelled from there by horse and oxen to Tindastoll (Markerville) in 1888. They homesteaded there until 1889 when they moved to the Happy Hill District. Mr. Bordal was a very good carpenter and Mrs. Bordal was Secretary Treasurer of the the Ladies Aid for years. They had three sons. Mrs. Bordal died in 1903 and Benedict in 1910.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Grub-axe to Grain.
George Boston arrived in the early 1800's from Cheshire, England and worked for the CPR. He moved to Cochrane in 1894 to homestead SE 1/4 of Sec.36-26-5-W5M, raising horses and cattle. He died in 1900 at Mitford, Alberta.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Big Hill Country.
Joseph, a brother of George Boston, also worked for the CPR. He homesteaded SW 1/4 of Sec.36-26-5-W5M in 1894. He Married Alice Coomber who was a maid of Lady Cochrane. He was an original member of the Calgary Fire Brigade. Alice died in 1944 and Joseph married Violet Emily Allen and lived in Calgary until he died in 1951. Emily died in 1973.
Mr. G. C. Boswell was with Col. Macleod at the signing of Treaty No.7 at Blackfoot Crossing.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Scarlet and Gold, Boswells historical note, Seventh Annual, p. 48.
George Botha settled on NW 1/4 28-32-3-W5 in 1890.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Olds First.
The Botsfords came to the Langdon area about 1888, with their son Fred. They had emigrated to Connecticut in 1839 from England. After the Civil War they came to Canada as United Empire Loyalists and settled in Ontario. They came west to homestead east of Calgary. Mr. Botsford was known as the travelling magistrate. He took a keen interest in Indian people and was given the name Wolf Moccasin. When his close friend Joe Healy died his name Potani was passed to Fred. Henry and Elizabeth had a daughter Dorothy, who was honored by the Blood tribe and given the name Princess Morning Star.
Ranched at Dog Pound Creek NW 1/4 21-28-4-W5th. When the post office was established in 1909 it was named after him. He was in the Cochrane area in 1889.
Born in 1875 in England and died in Calgary, Alberta in 1936. He came to Calgary in 1890. He married Clara Maud Harris in 1907, who was born in England. They had three sons. Worked on Ranches, Hull's, '25' for a number of years; Oxley, Mosquito Creek from 1897 to 1900. He returned to England and married in 1907. Came back and resumed working on the Cochrane ranch until 1909. He moved to his own place on Willow Creek. He was killed by a truck in Calgary in 1936. Mrs.Boulton later married Frank Brazil of Calgary.
William married Victoria Knight. Their daughter Katie Gwendolyn Victoria was born 11 June, 1889 at Calgary. He was Assistant Agent at Dominion Land Office at Calgary. In Calgary in 1889.
A Missionary on Blood Reserve. Moved to Pincher Creek in 1885 and was given additional responsibilities at the Peigan Reserve.
Married Margaret Woolridge Hitchens. They had one son. A Calgary photographer, photographed the last Sun Dance at the Blood Reserve in 1887. He apparently came from England an 1884, returning in 1885-86 with Ernest Gundry May in 1887-88. He had a photo studio in 1891-93 in Edmonton.
Born in 1859 in Virginia, USA and died in 1923 at Saskatoon, Sask. He married Winnifred Thompson in 1883 at Calgary. She was born in 1864 at Quebec City and died at Yuba City, Ca. in 1940. They had three sons. Came west to Conrad, Montana in 1880-81 with his sister and brother-in-law to Fort Benton. He came to Calgary in 1881 as did his wife Winnifred, with her mother, brother and sisters. Operated a store in Calgary for 14 years. Left in 1895 to Everett, Wash. Gold Rush in 1898. Vancouver, B.C. from 1903 to 1922.
Born in 1867 at N. S. and married in 1889 to Florence Miller. They had three children. He came to Lethbridge in 1889 where he was engaged in various lines of work until 1891 when he established a real estate and Insurance business. He was secretary, treasurer, member of Council, acting Mayor, City Assessor for Lethbridge. Also secretary of the Board of Trade, secretary of the Agricultural Society. One of the managers of Galt Hospital and secretary of the school board at different times over the years.
John Bown was born in Brantford, Ontario in 1856 and died in 1932. He was admitted to the Ontario Bar in 1882 and moved to Calgary in 1885 until 1891 when he moved to Edmonton. In 1899 he married Phoebe Miller and they had two children, Emily Rachel and Walter John. Bown practiced criminal law and was a member of several pioneer legal firms. In 1907, he was appointed solicitor for the City of Edmonton and created K.C. In 1930 he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Alberta.
Married in 1880 at Winnipeg, Man. They had a family of three girls and two boys. Mr. Boyce came with the C.P.R. construction crew in 1883. Benjamin and his wife kept building houses for construction crews of the C.P.R. at Winnipeg, Calgary and Vancouver. After completion of the rail they returned to Calgary. He put up hay at High River for the N.W. M. P. Later went to Wetaskiwin where he built the Walker house and later the Driard. He returned to High River and ran a hotel there during Bob Edward's time. He also had a hotel at Sweetgrass, Montana for a time.
Born in India and died in 1959.He married in 1890 to Elizabeth Marie Priscilla (Minnie) Dennison. He was in Millarville in 1886. Henry served in the Riel Rebellion in 1885. He took up land on Sheep Creek. He studied medicine at Trinity College, Toronto and graduated with the class of 1896-97. He set up practice at Bobcageon, Ontario, where he resided with the exception of the war in 1914-18.
Born in England in 1812 and died at Morley, Alberta in 1894. Came to Morley in 1879-80. He married Elizabeth Craig McDougall who was born in 1831. They had five sons and two daughters.
Clerk for first City Council of Calgary in 1884. He attended the NWMP veterans Dinner in 1887. He proposed Toast Riders of the Plains.
Lord George Boyle took up ranching with his brother Henry on the South Fork in the Pincher Creek area. He became the first representative of Pincher Creek for the Territorial House in 1884 or 85. At the end of his term he got the wanderlust and left for unknown places.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek.
Ranched in Fort Macleod district in 1884. Was elected to Territorial Council of N.W.T. in 1885. His brand for cattle and horses was a "Y" right hip. Registered in 1884.
A rancher built Boynton Hall, Calgary 1883-84. Calgary year book 1919 records first school held there. Calgary 1883.
A surveyor and surveyed 26-3-W5, and in the Wildcat Hills in 1888.
Mr. Braden was one of the founders of the Calgary Herald, August 1883. In 1887 was one of the proprietors of the Calgary Tribune, ( Braden and Baillie).
Charles Bradke with his wife and family arrived in Pincher Creek from Manitoba in 1884. They traveled by CPR rail to Medicine Hat and then drove 200 miles by wagon using a four horse team to Dutch Flats area near Pincher Creek.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek.
Mr. Bradley was born September 29, 1847 Cobourg, Ontario and died November 2, 1918 at Calgary. He was married to Elizabeth Cunningham in September, 1873 in Ireland. Elizabeth was born June 19, 1852 and died January 31, 1936 at Calgary. There were eleven children. Mr. Bradley, his wife and three sons came to Calgary in 1889. It took 14 days traveling from Muskoka, Ontario to the Calgary area with a freight car of settler's effects. They settled on a farm in the Bowness area for two years and then he and his son Robert homesteaded on Tongue Creek. Mr. Bradley and his wife moved back to Calgary where Jonathan died during the flu epidemic in 1918.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Mr. J. W. Bradley Jr. arrived with his family in 1890 from Muskoka, Ont. In 1898 he and his brother Levi went to Hutchings & Riley in Calgary to learn the leather business. Two years later J. W. Jr. started a harness business in High River where he was later joined in the business by his brother Levi.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Levi Bradley arrived with his family in 1890 from Muskoka, Ont. He drove a team on grade work for the C & E Railway, Midnapore south. He also had a contract with Chas. Short to pick & ship buffalo bones. He joined his brother J. W. Jr. in a harness business and when the demand for harness fell off he started making fine saddles. He married Mary Patterson, from Northhampton, England in 1899. They had five sons and 2 daughters. Mary died in 1942 and Levi died in 1958.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Miss Bradley was born 17 June, 1877 at Darwen, Lancashire England and died 2 December 1852 at London, Ontario. She was married in Calgary to George Madge, who was born 24 November, 1866 at Devonshire, England and died 22 August, 1950 at London, Ontario; Sarah Ann came to Calgary in 1883.
Mr. Bradley was born in Ontario and died at Claresholm, Alberta. He was married at Cochrane, on 16 March, 1904 to Alice Smith, who was born in England and died at Prince Rupert, B.C. There were three children. He came to Cochrane, in 1889.
Mr. Bragg was an accountant for the Cochrane Coal Co. at Mitford, in 1885. The Bragg Creek P.O. was named in 1911 after him, as he was one of earliest settlers there.
Mr. Braithwaite married Marjorie Walker Hendrie and had one daughter, Marjorie Laura, who was born in Calgary on June 2nd, 1889. He was manager of the Bank of Montreal. He was also associated with George C. King in the installation of the first electric light plant.
Sometimes surname is spelled Bradtke. Mr. Bratke was born April 11, 1840 at Posen, Germany and died April 11,1917 at Pincher Creek, Alberta. He was married in 1873 at Berlin, Germany to Wilhelmine Henriette Schwaen, who was born in 1843 in Germany and died in August, 1929 at Pincher Creek, Alberta. They had one child. He filed on a homestead on the south side of Pincher Creek in 1883. Later in 1884 his wife and daughter Berthahe arrived from Germany. They traveled by rail to Medicine Hat and then drove 200 miles by wagon and four horse team to the Pincher Creek area. They farmed until 1909 when they retired in the Crook District southeast of town.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Prairie Grass to Mountain Pass.
(see also longer profile)
John Bratton was born November 04, 1862 at Round Rock, Texas. He and his brother Tom joined a cattle drive to Alberta in 1888 that arrived there in the summer of 1889. He settled in the Porcupine Hills where he homesteaded. He Married Clara Hamilton in 1901 and they ranched on Beaver Creek, raising cattle and horses until 1911. They moved to Bow Island and he went into the Livery Stable and feed business with the Beattie Bros. He served as a town councillor from 1913 to 1924. He died 16 May 1926 and is buried at Ft. Macleod.
Mr. Bray was an Olds area surveyor for the Dominion Land Survey in the year 1883.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Olds First.
Mr. Bray was born 24 January, 1840 at Bewdley, Worcestershire, England, and died 9 September, 1923 at Medicine Hat, Alberta. He married Jemima McKay at Fort Walsh in 1876 and had a family of thirteen children. He was a Sergeant Major of the NWMP. He came west with the force in 1874 where he was made Sergeant. He was later transferred to serve in Pincher Creek from 1881 to 1882 when he left the force. In 1885, during the North-West Rebellion, he joined the Captain Stewart�s Rocky Mountain Rangers. He was also one of the first stock inspectors for the Federal Government and was the guiding force in the formation of the Medicine Hat Stock Growers Association.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Hell for a Basement. John Henry Gresham Bray family fonds - Esplanade Archives. Additional research by JFR.
Alfred Brealey was born in Costa Rica in 1861 and settled with his brothers William, Henry and Arthur at Beaver dam in 1887. They were engaged in ranching . Alfred died in 1890.
2004 Addendum. Ref: The Prairie.
Came to Medicine Hat in 1883.
Mr. Bredin ranched at Bassano. He came to Calgary, in 1884 and died on 14 August, 1935 at Bassano, Alberta.
Mr. W. F. Bredin arrived at the Red Deer Crossing in 1883 and took over Myer's claim He later opened a store in Calgary with R. Steen and began freighting between Calgary and Edmonton. In the same year he discovered and developed the Climax coal mine 22 miles south-west of Calgary. He was recorded as a member of the Calgary Oddfellows registry in 1888.
Mr. Bremner was born 23 May, 1850 at Renfrew, Ontario and died 19 February, 1938 at Calgary. He was married on 27 January, 1886 in Renfrew, Ontario to Grace Ann Cardiff, who was born 12 November, 1865 at Renfrew, Ontario and died at Calgary, Alberta on 22 November 1939. They had three children. He worked on the C.P.R. and left when the sidings of Langdon and Shepard where being constructed. He arrived in Calgary in August of 1883, and worked for Angus Sparrow at his livery stable. He homesteaded in the Pine Creek area.
George born January 1844 in Admaston, Ontario, a brother of Archibald Patterson Bremner, settled on a quarter section in the Starmount district. He became a widower before 1891 with six sons. He died in November 1912 at De Winton, Alberta.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Sodbusting to Subdivision. Additional research by JFR.
Mr. Bremner was born 30 March, 1854 in Oxford County, Ontario. He was married in Renfrew, Ontario on August 7, 1877 to Janet Fisher. They had two children. He came to Lethbridge in 1880s and was in real estate for ten years. He was also on the school board and was on the City Council for eight years.
Additional research by JFR.
Mr. Brennan was born 8 November, 1852 at Sherbrooke, Quebec and died 8 August, 1952 at Calgary. He was married 10 July 1886 in Calgary, to Maria Page, who was born 25 March, 1851 in Ottawa, Ontario and died 13 January, 1906 at Calgary. They had three children. Mr. Brennan delivered water by the barrel before any water system was installed in Calgary, in 1883. He farmed and later ranched north of Calgary, but did not live on the farm. He was only on the ranch for a short time. In 1891 he filed NW 34-25-29 W5th. In 1902 filed SE 36-26-29 W5th; 1902 files NE 25-26-29 W4th; 1903 filed SE 25-26-29 W4th, The latter two were purchased from the C.P.R.
Mr. Brereton was born 3 August, 1864 at Bantry Bay, Ireland and died 12 January, 1920 near Barstow, Alberta (on Blackfoot Reserve). He was married 30 December, 1896 at Gleichen, to Margaret Martin, who was born 1 May, 1876 at St. Thomas, Ontario. They had four children. David came west in the late 1880's obtaining employment with W.H. (Dutch) Patrick, trailing cattle to the Blackfoot Indian Agency for I.G. Baker Co. Later he worked for Billie Hyde, near Dorothy. In 1904 he managed the Two Bar ranch. In 1907 became stockman at the North Camp of the Blackfoot reserve remaining with the Indian Dept. until his accidental death in 1920, when his horse fell while he was gathering cattle.
Dr. Brett was born 15 November, 1851 at Strathroy, Ontario and died 16 September 1929 at Banff, Alberta. He married Louise Theodore Hungerford, who was born 24 September, 1855 in Westminster Twp. County Middlesex, Ontario. There were five children in the family. Dr. Brett came west in 1883, serving as surgeon for the C.P.R. at Canmore and Anthracite. He established the Banff Sanatorium in 1886. He was elected to the first legislative assembly of the N.W. T. in 1888 and sat until 1901. He was appointed to the Senate of the U. of A. in 1908 and 1912. He was Lieut. Governor of Alberta in 1915 and was reappointed in 1920.
Dr. Brett came to Calgary to practice medicine in 1884.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAP membership application files.
Mr. Brewster came to Silver City in 1885. He had come west as a young man to join his brothers, James and William. His first years in the west were spent panning for gold, and 'rawhiding' for lumber operations near Golden, B.C. In 1888, he registered his brand in Alberta, and raised, bought and sold cattle from his homestead near Bowden. He operated the first regular coach line between Red Deer and Rocky Mountain House. Later he built a cabin south of Nordegg, where he rounded up wild horses for sale. He died at Nordegg, Alberta in 1939. Contributed by R. Locke.
Jim Brewster left Kingston in 1872 as a lad of eighteen, to seek his fortune in Western Canada. He became a freighter and farrier in the fast growing trade between Winnipeg and the Northwest Territories. From 1877 to 1879, he freighted from Winnipeg to Fort Edmonton, then south to Morleyville, where he met his future wife, Mary Jane Boyd, sister-in-law of the Rev. John McDougall. Jim had a timber lease west of Banff about 1883, for the CPR construction crews. Brewster Glacier and Brewster Creek are named for him. Later he was foreman of the Mt. Royal Ranch near Cochrane; served as a scout during the Riel Rebellion; then homesteaded near Bowden in 1887 with his brothers William and George. His White House was a popular stopping place on the Calgary-Edmonton Trail. Jim Brewster was well-known and respected thoughout Alberta and was a prominent Mason. He died at Bowden in 1937. Mary Jane Boyd died at Calgary in 1912; his second wife was the former Christine Thompson. Jim had two children, Elizabeth Boyd and James Irvine Jr..
Mr. Brewster was born 6 March, 1852 at Kingston, Ontario and died 6 April 1941 at Banff, Alberta. He was married at Kingston, Ontario to Isabella Thompson who was born 18 December, 1846 at Londonderry, Ireland, and died 4 July, 1925 at Banff, Alberta. They had a family of seven children. He came to Banff in 1886.
Mr. Brewster came to Banff; in 1885. He was born in Kingston, Ontario. He was trained as a millwright. He built the first permanent bridge across the Bow River at Banff, replacing the earlier pontoon bridge. He also built the first permanent bathhouse at the Cave and Basin. He homesteaded near Bowden in 1888; his brothers, James and George had adjoining homesteads. He later established a foundry at Edmonton. He left Alberta to live in Redwood, California in his later years.
Contributed by R. Locke.
Mr. and Mrs. Brice came to Okotoks in 1890. Henry was born 19 March, 1832 in Ireland and died 12 December, 1914 at Okotoks, Alberta. He was married 28 of December, 1875 at Port Britain, Ontario, to Mary Ann Saisbury, who was born 7 February, 1844 in Ireland and died on 10 March, 1911, Okotoks, Alberta. They had one daughter, Laura Beatrice, who was born 7 August, 1879, Port Hope, Ontario and died 3 October, 1946 at Okotoks, Alberta.
Rev. Bridgeman with Rev. J. A. Williams, the superintendent of the Methodist Church, came to the Medicine Hat railway roundhouse to conduct a service one Sunday in September, 1883. There were 15 men and a few women in the congregation. They sat on improvised chairs while preacher used an anvil draped with a blacksmith's as a pulpit.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Medicine Hat Country, p. 70.
Mr. Bridges was born in April, 1859 at Matfield Green, Kent, England and died 9 March, 1895 at High River. He was married in England in 1882 to Sarah Elizabeth Tandy, who was born 24 March, 1862 at Matfield Green, Kent, England and died 8 February, 1941 at New Westminster, B.C. They had seven children; He moved west in 1889 and worked for a time in Calgary, then homesteaded north west of High River. After Stephens death Mrs. Bridges married Duncan Murray, a pioneer rancher on Sheep Creek. They resided in High River until 1905, then moved to New Westminster, B.C.
In 1887, Mr. Brier was making bricks near Redcliff and hauling them by wagon to Medicine Hat to sell them for $9.00 a thousand. He had to pay $0.50 a load to take the bricks over on the ferry.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Bricks in Alberta.
Died in Calgary, 28 August, 1935. Came to Calgary, Alberta in 1889 and located at Beaverdam.
Mr. Briggs came to Pincher Creek 1886. Hunted for the lost Lemon Mine for several years.
Peter Briggs was an active member of the Beaver Creek Polo Players in the Pincher Creek area in 1888.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek, p. 10-12.
Mr. Bright was born 12 July, 1868 Woolsthorpe, Lincs. England and died 10 May 1940 at Fort Macleod, Alberta. He was married there on 31 December, 1899 to Jean Elizabeth Harper, who was born 2 May, 1878 at Edinburgh, Scotland and died 6 March 1929 at Fort Macleod, Alberta. There were two children. He arrived at Medicine Hat in 1883 with the C.P.R., survey party, driving a red river cart. He settled on land at Willow Creek, naming it Glen Willow Ranch. He entered into cattle raising on a small scale. He was councillor in 1909 when the Local Improvement district 69 was established. He continued as councillor and reeve. In his final years he was Police Magistrate for the Municipal district of Bright. A president of Southern Alberta Pioneers and Old Timers Association in 1935.
Mr. Bright was born in 1862 at Woolsthorpe, Lincolnshire, England and died at Vancouver, B.C. in 1943. A civil engineer, he came to Canada in 1882 and worked for Maple Creek survey under Peter Turner-Bone. He later took part in the survey through the Rockies under Major Rogers. He settled on Glen Willow ranch with his brother, Harry. He later became engineer in charge of construction for the C.P.R. when the railroad was moving west through the Crows Nest Pass. In 1903 John left Alberta and settled in Vancouver, B. C.
Mr. B. Brimmins was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1885.
Arrived in Calgary April 14, 1889.
First officer commanding the NWMP at Calgary for F troop, in 1875 Resigned in 1876.
Unmarried. Established a furniture and hardware store in Lethbridge, which also supplied coffins and took charge of funerals, (Brodie and Stafford).
Mr. Brodie was born at Blairgewrie, Perthshire, Scotland in 1861 and died 31 December, 1926 at Lethbridge, Alberta. He was married in 1893 at Lethbridge to Minnie Ann Rodd, who was born 13 March, 1861 at Hamilton, Ontario and died 14 May, 1947 at Lethbridge, Alberta. They had four children. He came to Lethbridge in 1887 to join his bachelor brother, David. He was a teamster, freighting and cartage.
Mr. Brodie was born 12 April, 1860 at Inverness, Quebec and died 7 August, 1935 at Cereal, Alberta. He was married in June of 1897 at DeWinton, Alberta to May Chaplin Paling, who was born 23 May, 1875 in London, England, and died 19 June 1945 at Elnora, Alberta. they had two children. He came west to Saskatchewan in 1883. He was in the Riel Rebellion in 1885 and was taken prisoner. He homesteaded in the DeWinton area in 1889, then moved to Calgary and later to Cereal, Alberta.
Owned a section of land between Holmes and Langford. He sold to Burns about 1900 for $10.00 an acre, then worked in the bank at Brandon, Manitoba. He came to High River in 1884 and died in British Columbia.
Ranched with brother, Richard in High River district in 1886. His brand was registered in 1888. George moved to Florida, USA in 1900 where he became a College Professor.
Mr. Brodrick was born in 1860 in County Cork, Ireland and died in 1951 at High River, Alberta. He was married in Ireland in 1887 to Jane Bennett who was born in 1859 and died 19 November, 1905 at High River, Alberta. They had two children. He came to Medicine Hat in 1883 and proceeded to Calgary, from where he operated a pack train to Golden, B.C. He was carrying supplies for the CPR. During the Riel Rebellion he acted as a scout with the NWWP under Major Sam Steele. In 1880 he began farming on the Little Bow river, four miles south of High River with his two brothers, George and Arthur. He was active in community affairs, serving on the Vulcan Municipal Council as well as being Police Magistrate in High River.
Mr. Brogden was born at Sabden, Lancashire, England in 1846, and died in 1931 at Altadena, California, USA. He was married at Brantford, Ontario in 1869 to Jean Duncan, who was born at Brantford, Ontario in 1844 and died at Calgary, Alberta in 1918. They had seven children. He came west in 1883 working for the CPR from the end of the steel at Medicine Hat to Calgary. At Calgary he worked for Col. James Walker at the sawmill, where he unfortunately lost the fingers of his left hand. James filed W 1/2 16-22-1 W5th. He was a juryman on the Fisk murder trial in 1889.
Samuel Brogden, born in Brampton, Ontario in 1870, came west with his parents in 1883. He married Maude Dames in 1901. Following their marriage they farmed south of Midnapore before moving to the Priddis area.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAPD membership application files.
Mr. Brooke was born in 1864 at Ruyton, England and died in Calgary on 22 June 1936. He was unmarried. He served in N.W.M. P. from 28 October, 1884, 31 March, 1898 and from 27 November, 1899, 8 February, 1909. He attained the rank of Sgt. Major.
Lionel Brooke arrived in the Pincher Creek area between the middle and south forks of the Old Man River in 1883-1884. Although he ranched in partnership with H. M. Hatfield for a time and spent most of his time in the mountains hunting with the Indians. He is said to have played in the first polo game in Alberta, and is alleged to have spent two or three fortunes in his time. He died in 1939.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek.
Mr. Brooks was born 25 December, 1866 at Sherbrooke, Quebec. He was married in 1910 to Marion Smith. A civil engineer, working with the C.P.R. from 1887 until coming to Calgary in 1890.
A stagecoach driver in Pincher Creek area in 1882.
Amy Ellen Cormber was born in England in 1867 and died in Alberta in 1946. In 1888 she married Richard Smith in Kent, England then the couple emigrated to Canada where they settled at Mitford, in 1889, where they were employed by Lady Adela Cochrane. They had three children, Violet Amy, Nora Alice and Albert Graham. The family moved to the Virginia Ranch north of Cochrane in 1898 until Richards death. Amy and the children returned to England where she trained as a midwife. She returned to Calgary in 1904 and married Charles Brown of Didsbury. The family farmed in the Westcott district and Mrs. Brown worked as a midwife in the Cochrane and Didsbury area until 1939.
Austin Brown came from Ireland with his brother Sydney in 1890. In 1897 he homesteaded the SE 1/4 of Sec.12-21-3-W5M. He lived with the Deane-Freemans and later worked for Adams & King. He drowned in 1898 in the North Fork of Sheep Creek.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Our Foothills Priddis, Kew, Millarville.
Mr. C. Brown established his ranch in the Medicine Hat area in 1887, reported to be one of the best in the region.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Medicine Hat Country, p. 60.
Charles Brown, a well educated American, came north via Fort Benton. He was a bull-whacker and freighted for I.G. Baker Co. making several trips from Fort Benton to Blackfoot Crossing. He worked as a cow puncher for most of the local ranches and was with Lach McKinnon in 1889. He was a drinking man and when he attempted to cross back into Montana, he was turned back. Later he got his identity cleared up and was able to return to the USA.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
Charles Brown was born in Otley, England in 1863 and died in a motor vehicle accident in Calgary in 1928. He married Margaret (Daisy) Banister, daughter of pioneer veterinary surgeon and rancher, Albert E. Banister, at Davisburg in 1900. Daisy was born in Bridport, Dorset in 1878 and died in Calgary in 1926. Charles Brown came to Calgary in 1883 and became foreman of the Military Colonization Company Ranch under General Strange. He later established his homesite at the 76 ranch, south of Shepard. He ran over 2400 cattle on 4000 acres along the Bow River, and supplied many of Calgary's first firehorses to Chief Cappy Smart. He moved to Victoria briefly, then returned to Alberta to settle near Big Valley. There were four children in the family.
Submitted by Blythe Brown
Mr. Brown was born in England in 1863 and died at Fort Macleod in 1956. He was married at Fort Macleod in 1892 to Elizabeth Ethel Rebecca Cody, who was born at New Market, Ontario in 1860 and died at Fort Macleod in 1936. They had two children. He served in the NWMP for eight years, retiring in 1895. He farmed at Red Deer for seven years, returning to Fort Macleod where he was a bookkeeper for Barker and Skelding. He served as secretary- treasurer of the Municipality, of the school board, and for many years the Board of Trade and the Agricultural Society.
Miss Brown was born in 1869 at Rice Lake, Ontario and died in May, 1961 at Duncan, B.C. She was married in 1891 in Calgary, to Harry Atkinson. She came to Calgary in 1889 as a teacher to Central School.
Mr. Brown was Born 14 August, 1865 at Madoc, Ontario and was married in 1906 at Toronto, Ontario to Anna M. May. They had one daughter. He came to Calgary in 1887 as Accountant for Eau Claire and Bow River Companies. He was there until 1908. He became managing director and secretary of Calgary Milling Ltd. He was also secretary of the Calgary Water Power Co, Ltd.
A contractor, came to Calgary in 1885. He had three children.
Isabelle Brown came to Alberta in 1883 with her parents, Mr. and Mrs John Sr. and brothers James and John Brown. In 1884 she left for the Kananaskis area where she met and married David Sinclair in 1886.
Came to Calgary in 1887. Early member of Southern Alberta Pioneer and Oldtimers Association in the early thirties.
James Brown came to Alberta in 1883 with his parents, sister Isabelle and brother John. James homesteaded in the Little Red Deer River and married Mary Arnell in Calgary in 1888.
John Brown was with the CPR legal department, when in 1885 he came to Alberta to open an office in North Calgary. He continued to practice law until 1891, when he moved to Edmonton. He married Phoebe Miller on Christmas Day, 1889 in Calgary. They had two children, Emily Rachel and a son Walter John.
Kootenai was born 10 October, 1839 Ennistymon, County Clare, Ireland and died 18 July 1916, Waterton, Alberta. He was married 26 September 1869 at Pembina, North Dakota to Olive de Lyonnais who was born at Pembina, North Dakota and died between autumn of 1883 and spring 1885 at Waterton. His second wife was Isabella, who died 1 April, 1935 at Waterton, Alberta. He had two children. Kootenai first visited the Caribou and Waterton Lakes in 1865. He homesteaded at Waterton in 1877. He served as chief scout for the Rocky Mountain Rangers during the Riel Rebellion. He was a packer for the NWWP as well as a guide. In 1889-90 when the forest reserve was formed he became the Game Warden. In 1910 Superintendent of Waterton National Park and remained in the park until his death.
Mr. Brown was born in 1865 at Ashfield, County Cavan, Ireland. He died 22 November 1936 at Pekisko, Alberta. He was unmarried. In 1883 the BX ranch of Vernon, B.C. trailed 1200 horses to Fort Macleod. Three hundred of these horses were bought by the Northwest Cattle company. Mr. Brown took the horses to the Bar U at Pekisko and was in charge of the horse herd for fifteen years. In 1886 he went into cattle ranching with Frank Bedingfeld. In 1910 he bought the Sheppard and Crawford ranches and went into business for himself. His brand was 7U and he became known by that name. In 1936 7U,s horse fell on him and died as a result of his injuries.
Mr. Brown was born 30 November 1850 at Fort Garry, Manitoba. He died in 1930 at Calgary. He was married 28 June 1873 at Winnipeg, Manitoba to Letitia Cook, who was born at Winnipeg, in 1852. Magnus was a son of a Hudson Bay trader. He was engaged in stock raising in the Red Deer district for three years, then came to Calgary in 1885, where he was contracting for the C.P.R. both in the construction of the railroad as well as the Irrigation project. He was elected City Alderman in 1911.
A lady Missionary at the Blackfoot reserve in 1888.
Mr. Brown was born in 1869 in England, and died 28 September, 1941 at Calgary. He married Nancy Patterson, who died at Calgary in 1905. His second wife was May Helen MacDougall, who was born at Hamilton, Ontario in 1880. Osborne and Nancy Brown had two children. He came to Calgary, in 1885. After the death of Sam Livingston, Osborne purchased the Livingston Farm.
Mr. Brown was born 19 June 1871 at Montpelier, Bear Lake County, Idaho USA. He was married 31 December 1891 at Cardston, Alberta to Martha Louise Layne, who was born at Lewiston, Cache Co., Utah on 11 January 1877. They had 15 children. He freighted, farmed and had a barber shop in Cardston for 30 years. He carried mail on horseback from Standoff to Cardston weekly from 1888. He homesteaded at Aetna in 1890.
Mr. Brown was born 25 August, 1852 and died 12 May 1932 at Salmon Arm, B.C. He was married in Ontario to Matilda Monsow, who was born 9 February, 1855 and died 2 November, 1945 at Calgary. They had four children. He came to Calgary in May, 1888.
Mr. Brown was born in Ontario and died at Victoria, B.C. He was married at Lethbridge, in 1901. He was manager of the Brown Ranch near Rayley, P.O. from 1886 to 1907. He ranched on the St. Marys River, north of Magrath, for about five years, then moved to Victoria. His first wife died about a year after their marriage. He remarried in Victoria, B.C. Rayley was a station southwest of Magrath and named after C. Rayley. No longer on current maps
Walter Brown arrived in 1888 in Calgary, where he worked for Mr. Angus Sparrow at the Hippo Ranch. He homesteaded the Heap See Ranch, southwest of Strathmore, and also purchased the Hippo Ranch. He married Agnes McCormack and they had a family of four children. In 1916 they bought a ranch on the Red Deer River west of Hutton. He owned the Gleichen Transfer and Coal sales and was bailiff for the Calgary Sheriff. Walter died in 1939 and Agnes, an accomplished musician and singer, died in 1939.
2004 Addendum. Ref: The Gleichen Call.
Wellington Brown was recorded as a member of the Calgary Odd Fellows Lodge in 1889
Mr. Brown was born 13 October, 1839 at Townhead, Fifeshire, Scotland. He was married in 1868 at Arbuthnet Parish, Scotland to Susan Aymer, who was born 2 July, 1849, at Kincardineshire, Scotland. William with his wife Susan, four girls and four boys, arrived at Queenstown in the Gleichen area on 2 July 1889. They initially spent several months sleeping in hammocks in a barn hayloft. Buffalo chips were used as fuel and water was hauled from a nearby spring. In the fall of 1889 they had a small house constructed on a homestead two miles east of Gleichen. He farmed for four years but gave it up due to dry seasons. He then raised cattle, but lost several during the winter of 1906-07. He then returned to farming. They named their homestead Arbuthnott Ranch after the estate he had been employed at as a Factor in Scotland. It was their home for 60 years. They had a total of nine children. William died 9 October, 1921 at Medicine Hat, Alberta and Susan died 27 October, 1933 at Calgary. They are buried in the Medicine Hat cemetery. The farm was sold in 1949.
Merged with 2004 Addendum.
Born in Ireland and died 16 April, 1898 at Sheep Creek. He homesteaded the SE 1/4 12-21-2 W5th and stayed with the Deane-Freemans for a time, then worked for Adams and King. He drowned while attempting to cross the north fork of Sheep Creek which was overflowing with ice floating down. He came to Millarville in 1890.
Mr. Bruce was born in November, 1836 at Dunvegan, Isle of Skye, Scotland. He died 25 January, 1909 at Cochrane, Alberta. He was married to Margaret Jane Smith, who was born 25 February, 1845 at Rawden, N.S. and died 28 September, 1932 at Cochrane, Alberta. they had six children. He came west in 1883 with the C.P.R. He was section foreman at Laggan (Lake Louise) and Cochrane. He homesteaded NE 1/4 22-26-5 W5th and sold to Isaac Coatsworth in 1918.
Mr. Bruce was born in May, 1862 at Kingston, Ontario and died in 1937 at Fort Macleod, Alberta. He married Jennie Stockton, who was born at Gravesend, England and died in 1946 at Fort Macleod, Alberta. They had three children. Harvey and Jennie homesteaded on Tongue Creek in the Porcupine Hills. Later they moved in to Fort Macleod where Harvey bought an interest in livery stable and also drove a stagecoach. He hauled water in Macleod. In 1916 he homesteaded in the Spread Eagle district where they spent the remainder of their lives. They came to Fort Macleod in 1880.
Mr. Bruce was born in 1849 at Valleyfield, P.E.I., and died in Cochrane on 29 October 1905. John was brother of Donald J. Bruce. He was killed when an unscheduled train ran into the handcar. He came to Laggan in 1883, (Lake Louise).
Mr. Bruce was born in Ontario and died at 105 Years of age. He had one son. He worked in the Police Farm at Halifax flats, east of Pincher Creek for the NWMP. He came to Fort Macleod in 1880.
Mr. Bruce was born 10 November, 1836 at Quebec City and died 16 June, 1922 at Calgary. He was married in 1909 at Banff, Alberta to Mrs. Elizabeth Bristow, who was born 8 May, 1856 at Easington, England and died 19 September, 1930 at Calgary. In 1882 he came west to Winnipeg and to Calgary in 1884. He homesteaded at the foot of Nose Hill . His brand was WB registered in 1885. He served with Col. Strange's expeditionary force during the Riel Rebellion. He was a carpenter and contractor, and in 1893 worked on railroad bridges at Kicking Horse river as well as a hotel at High River. His second homestead was at Dog Pound in 1895.
Mr. Bruchet arrived in Lethbridge in 1885, where he lived in a dugout north of the railway bridge. He worked in the Galt Mines. Mr. Bruchet was born in France and died 7 January 1907. Philomene was the name of his wife. Their children were Gustave, George, Louise, Lydia and Mary. He later owned land at Kipp, Alberta. He and his children were very active in Lethbridge Associations.
Dr. Thomas Brunskill was born in 1845 in York, Ontario. In 1868 he was graduated from the Victoria University Medical Department (also known as Rolph's School) of Toronto. He married Jane Marr in 1869 and they had four children Frances (McKay), Persee Rivington, Arthur Dudley and Morley. Thomas practiced medicine at Stroud, Ontario near Innisfil until 1880, when he came West. He spent about five years ranching on the Willow Creek range in the Fort Macleod area until some time between 1885-1888 when he returned to Stroud and resumed his practice. He is listed as the owner of the 'three 0' brand in the 1888 Henderson's Northwest Ranchers' Directory and Brand Book. Thomas died in 1907 and Jane died in 1916, they are buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Toronto, Ontario.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Fort Macleod Gazette, 1993, obituary of daughter Mrs. Francis Mckay. Commemorative Biographical Record of the County of York, Ontario, 1907, p. 134. Additional Research by JFR.
Mr. J. Bruneau was one of the original NWMP stationed at Fort Macleod in 1874.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek.
Mr. Bryant died 1904-1905 Greenwood, B.C. He came to the Bar U ranch, Pekisko, Alberta in 1885. He operated the Mosquito Creek stopping house for its last year of operation. He homesteaded south of the 7U Brown ranch, then to the north side of Timber Ridge. He sold out in 1897 and prospected in the Kootenays. He was shot to death at Greenwood, B.C.
Captain Bryant came to the North West Territories, in 1881. He was engaged by Sir Alexander Galt to explore the Coalbanks area. After many months of travelling and exploring, he brought back a favorable report. In 1882, assisted by William Stafford and John Bryant, Mrs. Bryant, daughter Ada, together with Tom, James, Brett and Stephens, arrived at Coalbanks. Sir Alexander Galt and A. I. Torrance Galt, came to organize the working and development of the Northwest Coal and Navigation Company. The first miners came from Nova Scotia: Jim Conn, Dan McLean, James J. McKay, Peter Watson, Andy Anderson, Jim Ashcroft, John Bulmer, J. W. Bulmer, J. W. MacDonald, Robert Todd, George Beganton and two Emery brothers. There were boat builders Nils Todd, Alec Whisler, and ship captains Bill Hughes and John Todd. The little community began on June 2, 1883.
Thomas Bryant born April 5th, 1855 at Croydon, England and his wife Frances Matilda Golding who was born Sept. 5, 1860, arrived in Calgary in 1888. They were married in Croydon, England in 1882. They had three children who were born in Croydon (Jennette, Thomas Ernest, William Thomas James) and four children born in Calgary (Kathleen, Isabel, Harry and Harriett). Thomas James died in 1905 and Frances Matilda remarried George Carr Scott in Calgary in 1909. Matilda died in September 23, 1942.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Additional research by JFR.
Mr. Bryon died on 19 January 1941 at Vancouver, B.C. His wife was Ethel. They had six children. George came to Calgary in 1888 as a telegraph operator for the C.P.R. He lived at Innisfail on a farm for thirty-three years. He was mayor of Innisfail and secretary of the Board of Trade.
Mr. Bryon was born 17 December 1866 at Devonshire, England and died 21 January, 1947 at Colwood, B.C. He was married in 1890 in Ireland to Mary Nelson, who was born in Ireland. They had three children. He came to Alberta and joined the NWMP in 1888, serving at Fort Macleod for twenty years until 1908. On formation of the Alberta Provincial Police in 1917 he became Commissioner of the new force remaining in command until shortly before it was taken over by the RCMP.
Mr. Buck arrived in 1885. He was born in 1859, St. Andrews, New Brunswick. He married in Calgary to Georgina (Mutch) Ferguson, who was born in 1862 in England. They had one son, James Sydney, born in 1887 in Calgary. Horatio Mansfield was a carpenter according to the Church of the Redeemer records.
They came to Alberta in 1886. He was born in Dublin, Ontario. Died 1942, Calgary. He married Nancy in Kirkton, Ontario, 1886. Nancy was born November 1864 in Ontario and died February 1896. There were four children: Eurette, Sadie (Mrs. C. Anderson), Mary (Mrs. McElhersn), Mark.
Mr. Buckingham was a CPR time keeper at the locomotive shop at Medicine Hat in 1884.
Charlie Buckley known as Bowlegs, was a rangeland character known from the Rio Grande to the Bow River. He was a good cowhand and gunfighter. He was wagon boss for the TL outfit in Montana and helped George Lane bring in a bunch of horses for the Bar U during the summer of 1885. He was later killed in a gun fight in Montana.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Leaves from the Medicine Tree.
John Bullock to a ranch in the Pincher Creek area in the early 1880's. He opened a coal mine on his ranch in 1885.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Pincher Creek.
Mr. Bunce came to the Okotoks district in 1887 and engaged in farming. He sold his farm and moved to Calgary and joined the Police Department. Later he moved to Yakima, Washington. He had three children: Oscar, Benjamin, and James.
Thomas was born in Ontario and died in Creston, B.C. Came to Okotoks in 1887. He took up farming in the district and remained there until sometime in the 1980's. His father and mother, Thomas and Elizabeth also arrived in the 80's and are believed to be buried in a Calgary cemetery.
Merged two original records.
Mr. Bunce came west in 1876 from Toronto, Ontario. Born in 1850 and died 1924 in U.S.A. Mrs. Bunce was born in Manitoba and came in 1880 with three children. They settled in the High River area. William freighted between Fort Benton and Edmonton, was a postmaster from 1884-1887. Only one daughter remained in Alberta, Mrs. Irvine Stewart (Lucy). She died in 1916 in Okotoks.
John Bunn established a HBC trading post near the mouth of Ghost River in the fall of 1874. In August of 1875, he with 10 workers, rafted the buildings and supplies down the Bow River to the east bank of the Elbow River. The buildings were reconstructed and was named The Elbow Post. John operated the HBC post until 1877 where during the first half of 1877 they took in over 1000 Buffalo robes, hides and pelts.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Calgary Herald, Nov. 14, 1985.
Arrived in the 1880's and lived in Langdon.
Born in 1856, England. Married to Louisa Ellis in 1885. They had two children: Reginald, died in 1915, Ada Mary, died in 1952 in Florida, U.S.A. His early days in Calgary have not been recorded. He arrived in Calgary 1886 and in Red Deer 1889. John Burch is known to have taken over the trading post at Red Deer from James Healy and that he was accompanied by his wife and family. In 1891 he homesteaded on the townsite of Red Deer. In 1892 the Crossing school was moved to quarters above the Burch store
Came to the Davisburg district in 1889. Edward was born at Richmond, Ontario, in 1844, and died in Calgary May 10th, 1926. He married Ellen Murdock, Feb.17, 1864. She was born in Ontario, Jan.21, 1842, and died in 1931 at Calgary. The Burke family emigrated to Western Canada and purchased C.P.R. land five miles South of Calgary. The family consisted of six children: Emily, George, Robert, Albert, Margaret and Effie.
The Burn family, though originally from Scotland, came from Oregon to Alberta in prairie schooners in the 1880s. They were ranchers who brought a bunch of horses with them. They fitted in well and added much to the community socially.
Born in Scotland in 1845. Died June 1919 Lundbreck, Alberta. Married Isabella McVicar Thompson in Montreal. She died at Nelson, B.C. in 1924. They ranched in the Fort Macleod area and later in Lundbreck. There were five children: Henry, Edith, Nora, Rollo H, E. Winnifred.
Born 1856, Oshawa, Ontario, died in Calgary, 24 February 1937. Married Eileen Ellis of Penticton, B.C. Developed a major Packing House and had vast cattle interests. On his seventy fifth birthday he was appointed a Senator. He had one son Michael.
Thomas was born in Edinburgh, Scotland in 1843.Died at Calgary in 1925. Married Agnes Hepburn. At age twenty entered his father's business and in 1883 came to Canada. He arrived in Calgary in 1883. He became an Auctioneer, Valuator and real estate Agent, between 1895-1908 He was Assistant City Treasurer and Assessor and then City Treasurer until 1907. He published the first pamphlet advertising Calgary and 'Her Industries' in 1885.
Benjamin Smith, an engineer on the railway was recorded as a member of the North Star Masonic Lodge No. 4, Lethbridge in 1888. He died in Royalties, Alberta in September 28, 1946.
John Burell a waterman on the railway was recorded as a member of the North Star Masonic Lodge No. 4, Lethbridge in 1889.
Burrows came to Calgary as a surveyor in 1884. Mr. J. Burrows was with the Dominion Land Surveyors who came to the Big Hill Country in 1884. They not only mapped the area they also recorded an assessment of the possibilities of the land for farming.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Big Hill Country, p. 15-16.
Arrived in Fort Macleod in 1886. He was born at Guelph, Ontario in 1868. Died 21 August 1951 at Claresholm, Alberta. Married Minnie Furman of Boundry Creek in 1896. Minnie was born 1872 Baker, Oregon U.S.A. Died in 1956 at Claresholm, Alberta. He worked on a number of ranches including Bar U, Cochrane, homesteading at the south fork of Trout Creek. Later he operated Furman Ranch until the late 1930's. There were five children, Frederick C., Edward D., Alfred M., John E., Gordon L.
Mr. Burton arrived in Medicine Hat in 1883. Born in 1863, Hansport, died 1954 at Claresholm. Married in 1899 to Kate Ostrander, who was born in 1879 at Tilsonburg, Ontario ,died in 1956. There were three children; Burton Eugene, Gertrude, John A.
Mr. Busselle came west in 1889. He was born 23 February 1872 at Walkerton, Ontario. Married to Mrs. Elizabeth Plaskett. She died in 1914. Albert returned to Ontario in 1903 to attend the Ontario, Veterinary College at Toronto. He returned to Fort Macleod in 1907 and was Inspector for the Dept. of Agriculture until 1921. He was transferred to the Calgary Stockyards. Albert served in the Canadian Army 1915-18 He also operated a ranch in the Porcupine Hills, seventeen miles northwest of Macleod.
In 1883, Ben Butler was one of four engineers surveying a railway bridge across the South Saskatchewan River near Medicine Hat. There was some question of who owned some of the land that had been surveyed the previous year. It was learned that it was homestead land and Ben was one of the men who claimed title and settled on it.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Early History of Medicine Hat Country, p. 24.
Came west in 1885 and ranched in the Cochrane area. He sold his ranch to Samuel Copithorne, and in 1947 it was again sold to Arthur Crawford. He had two children.
Robert Butler came to Beaver Lake in 1884 and later was employed as an implement dealer.
2004 Addendum. Ref: SAP membership application files.
Mr. Butlin (sometimes spelled Butland) was one of the first recruits of the NWMP and was on the "March West". He was attending the Royal Military College at Kingston when he enlisted in 1873 at age 16. He was married in 1874 to Angelique Rosselle, who was born in 1859 in Edmonton of French Canadian and Cree lineage. There were eight boys and one girl in the family. In 1875 he was transferred to Fort Calgary. Joseph Butlin took his discharge in 1880 and homesteaded on the Elbow River (NW 1/4 of Sec.33-23-1-W5M) where the Calgary golf and Country Club now stands. He had 60 head of cattle and 17 head of horses and operated a noted sandstone quarry which provided sandstone for many of the early Calgary buildings. His neighbour on the south was Sam Livingstone. In the 1885 Rebellion, Mr. Butlin served with Sam Steele's scouts, and on his discharge had attained the rank of sergeant of the guards. In the late '80's he purchased land and built a house where the Devonish Apartment building now stands (17th Avenue and 8th St. S.W.). Joseph Butlin opened the first slaughter house for P. Burns in Calgary. Later the family moved to Morningside where they operated a successful farming operation. He also opened slaughter houses for Burns in Wetaskiwin, and later in Pincher Creek. Joseph Butlin died in 1924 at age 76. Angelique died in 1946 at age 87.
Merged with 2004 Addendum. Ref: Alberta Resources and Industries, 1885.
Harry and wife came west to Fort Macleod and took up residence in the Balzac district in 1883. Harry died in 1949. His wife died in 1905. They had two children.
George Byers originally from Collingwood, Ontario, came to Calgary in 1882 then left for Red Deer Crossing during the winter of 1882-83. He got lost, abandoned his outfit and was in bad straits. The police found him with his fingers badly frozen. Being a determined young man he left again after he recovered on 23rd January, 1883 with a freighter. They got lost again but with the help of others he managed to locate his abandoned outfit and then make his way to Red Deer Crossing.
2004 Addendum. Ref: The Homesteads that Nutured a City.
William Byers, a blacksmith by trade, arrived to homestead at the Red Deer Crossing in 1883. Unfortunately he later found that the land he settled was owned by The Saskatchewan Land Co. who refused to sell to him for less than five dollars per acre. He then decided to settle in Calgary and open a blacksmith shop. The bad luck followed him for in 1885 he made a pair of massive hinges for Fort Normandeau for the price of $63.80. Unfortunately Fort Normandeau was only authorized to pay him $40.00, which did not cover the cost of the iron that cost him $43.00.
2004 Addendum. Ref: Pioneers Book, Nov 02, 1903.
Maria was born 2 December, 1870 at Arklow Co. Ireland. She died 12 July 1949 at Red Deer, Alberta. On 15 June 1892 at Calgary she married James Hamilton Monkman, who came to Alberta in 1891. They had nine children. Molly came west with her father Paddy Byrne who went on to the Kamloops area then returned to Ireland. Mary worked at the Bar U Ranch where she met and married James. They moved to High River in 1940. She ran a boarding house for years and worked for the St. Francis de Sales, Roman Catholic church at High River.
Arrived in High River in 1886 from Michigan, U.S.A. with his wife and family, of three sons and two daughters. In 1894 they moved to Mosquito Creek. In 1900 James sold the property to George Ross and left the district. A daughter married Jack London who settled in the Pincher Creek area.